- Explore Nicaragua online

Caribbean States dialogue on Sustainable Tourism in Nicaragua

Róger Solórzano Canales | Jun 28, 2012

Meeting of the Special Committee on Sustainable Tourism in Managua. | Photographer: Olga Ortiz Kurashvili

28 countries in the region are gathered in Managua to share and refine common strategies.

Delegates from 25 member countries and 3 associated countries comprising the Association of Caribbean States (ACS), are doing the XXIII Meeting of the Special Committee on Sustainable Tourism in Managua, which began today and ends tomorrow, Friday June 29th. Share experiences, identify common strategies and progress in regional integration and the projection of a multi-destination Caribbean are some of the key objectives identified during the inauguration.

With four official languages -Spanish, English, French and Dutch- island and mainland territories, different cultures, but one common maritime space, the ACS was born in 1994 in the region, as an organization of integration with which to discuss and agree on issues such as trade, transportation, sustainable tourism, disaster prevention and economics.

Nicaragua was elected earlier this year as the chair country of the Association's Committee on Sustainable Tourism -valid for one year- which is why this date was set for the next committee meeting in Managua. With an active working agenda, the meeting will seek to generate progress on their main areas:

  • The establishment of the Sustainable Tourism Zone of the Caribbean (STZC), which is only missing the delivery of information from some Member States.
  • The promotion of multi-destination tourism in the Caribbean, and the expansion of cruise ship activity.
  • The establishment of the Center for the Promotion of Languages and Cultures of the Greater Caribbean (CPIC).
  • The establishment of the Regional Network for Tourist Safety and Security (RRSPT).

Gloria De Mees (from Surinam), Director of Sustainable Tourism Committee in charge since 2008, explained that some concrete results of the meetings of the committee are the tools that have been implemented to analyze the specific characteristics of countries and regions depending on most developed tourism (sun and beach, ecotourism, sports, cruises, etc.), which have generated useful information for all. They have also identified and developed information material as security needs for companies.

"We are an extraordinary power in the world" said Mario Salinas, president of the Nicaraguan Tourism Board (INTUR) referring to the Greater Caribbean during the presentation of the meeting to the media. Therefore, he said, they are now working to get closer and closer to a common regional position and the projection of the high-interest markets on the globe.

The ACS Member States are:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Venezuela

(Associate States)

  • Aruba
  • Curaçao
  • France
  • Sint Maarten
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

Translated by Aída Pichardo