- Explore Nicaragua online

Sandinista triumph in the national elections | Nov 7, 2006

The government of Nicaragua will return to the left side of the political spectrum after 16 years of liberal and neo-liberal governing. The FSLN – Frente Sandinista de Liberación Nacional – party, headed by Daniel Ortega, has won the presidential elections that took place throughout the nation on Sunday, November 5, 2006.

Despite the slowness of the electoral body in charge of counting the votes (Consejo Supremo Electoral, CSE), almost all of the votes have now, two days after the elections, finally been counted and with 91.48% of all the votes taken into account the following results have been published:

FSLN - 38.07%
ALN - 29%
PLC - 26.21%
MRS - 6.44%
AC - 0.27%

The elections have taken place in a tranquil manner and with a high participation rate, according to national and international observers. A few irregularities took place, but these were not considered to be of high relevance. The majority of the losing parties have started to give statements acknowledging the results, and all parties are expected to ultimately take the same respectful and tolerant attitude.

In the 1980’s, the socialist FSLN government, led by the same Daniel Ortega, faced an economical blockade and a civil war, both related to the policies of the government of the United States. (in the period of the Cold War). Many Nicaraguan citizens, national entrepreneurs and foreigners have raised fears about how the FSLN will head this government.

However, foreign and national leaders, as well as the winner himself, have pointed out that the circumstances have changed which consequently means that the threat of the FSLN on the country and on the region will be limited.

The majority of the Nicaraguan opposition (from different political areas) has started to resign and hope that the new government will not take measures that set back the Nicaraguan economy and democracy. The Sandinista supporters, on the other hand, are currently celebrating the return of their leaders.